The Things We Do for Love

Change is always difficult. Moving is always a pain. Saying goodbye to those you love is emotional. I am doing all of these things and plunging myself into the great unknown of rural New York. After nearly ten years advocating (a nice way of saying lobbying) for the largest health plan in the state of Hawaii, I am going to attempt to shed this persona. Of course, not being able to do anything half-assed, not only am I quitting my job, I am moving in with my mother. Wait, that doesn’t sound as rosy as it should. Let me put it another way. After ten years of living too far away from a very healthy and energetic 68 year old mother (no, she has not been 68 for ten years), my cute and smart 6 year old son (her only grandchild) and I are moving to NY to spend six months of quality time with her. There has been much sadness this past year, unexpected deaths and lives cut too short.  After these tragedies occurred, not to me directly in most instances, I stuck my head out of my cubicle and realized that I did not want to wait until my mother was dying or demented or both before I got to spend some time with her. So, in a selfish fit, I decided to go to NY for six months. Uprooting myself and my son in order to become temporary New Yorkers. We will eat many bagels, have extraordinary pizza and hopefully avail ourselves of the delights of the city. Our future is unclear but we remain optimistic. And I invite you to stay tuned, to take part in our journey as our adventures are just beginning.

About nematomorph

Living like the rich and famous, splitting time between Hawaii and New York.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Things We Do for Love

  1. lavagal says:

    Nice start. We’ll be expecting amazing, adjective-filled blog posts! And mouth watering ones, too! C’ya, tmrw!

  2. mauka-makai says:

    Big, courageous heart. It sounds right. Moms are awesome and yours is especially so. You and A will have an amazing adventure. Will K hang out with us when I visit my mom this summer? Maybe he can give N a surf lesson, hawaiian style.

    If I don’t see you at 40,000 feet, then in our dreams or on a beach somewhere.

Leave a Reply

