Preparing for the Holiday

At my Mom’s house we are getting ready to have some folks over tomorrow
for the 4th of July holiday. We are grilling hamburgers and chicken.
She is making macaroni salad and a pasta salad. She is also making deviled
eggs.  Deviled eggs-the magic party food of my youth. They are reminiscent of the get-togethers my parents would have in our house growing up. There was drinking and smoking and we would beg to eat those deviled eggs before the party started. Once the party got going we would try to sneak and see what was happening but my childhood house didn’t lend itself to much sneaking as our bedrooms were at the end of a hallway. There was something magic about the paprika sprinkled on the top of those eggs, red fairy
dust. Mom has always put chopped olives in her recipe. It gives the egg filling
substance and saltiness. I could eat only deviled eggs tomorrow and be happy.

Deviled eggs are definitely not a Hawaii thing. As much as it is a
comfort food for me here in NY, it is foreign to most in Hawaii. The only
person that I know from Hawaii who has an inkling about deviled eggs is Yvette.
I know this because I believe we made them for gatherings in the past (I may be
making this up). Back a long time ago when she lived at the Melrose Place of
Makiki and we were both single and childless. The best way to present deviled
eggs at a party is to use a deviled egg dish, no seriously these exist. It is
round with egg shaped ovals ringing the outside. The one my Mom used to use was
white and had a rooster on it. I actually own a deviled egg dish in Hawaii,
given to me by Yvette. I am not sure that I have ever used it. Maybe when I
attend the family holiday party in December in Hawaii I will make deviled eggs.
They will be exotic there but for me will be just like home. And I will use my
deviled egg dish from Yvette and the recipe from my Mom.

About nematomorph

Living like the rich and famous, splitting time between Hawaii and New York.
This entry was posted in Hawaii, New York and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Preparing for the Holiday

  1. lavagal says:

    Make ’em for our Bender gatherings all the time! We make them with olives like you and another set with curry. I’ve got a dish, too. We love them! Have a fun weekend!

  2. anna says:

    l LUV deviled eggs! let’s have adeviled egg party when u get back 🙂

  3. Jess says:

    Deviled eggs are the BEST! I could eat only those at a BBQ and be happy as well. In HI, I made them with Thai Chili Mayo and they were soooo tasty. Sadly, I can’t find that here, even at the Commissary. Doesn’t surprise me, but it’s still sad.

    • nematomorph says:

      those may be the three tastiest words in the English language “Thai Chili Mayo”, yum! Keanu just sent me a box and included the hot sauce with the rooster on it (the small jar-like one). I am sure that if I travelled up island I could get it but it is not available here. hope you are doing well with the little one. she is a cutie!

  4. mauka-makai says:

    hahaha! so funny. That beautiful deviled egg dish is from Germany. Or Chicago, it belonged to my friend Eva. I had not made or eaten DE before, I knew it was a fancy mainland pupu. But when I met you, I was so excited that you knew about and liked deviled eggs, you had to have that dish! So yes, you must make DE at least once to honor Eva and her lovely dish.

Leave a Reply

