Slower Time

I love walking my son up to catch the school bus every day (as long as
it is not pouring rain!) We live on a private road off the main road so the bus
doesn’t come down our road. I actually think that the bus wouldn’t fit down our
road anyway. It is about a quarter of a mile and it has just been the two of
us. We usually hold hands and chat and I end up finding out interesting things
that he failed to tell me. Today he was telling me about how they were playing
space tag in gym yesterday. He said that there were four kids who were aliens
and when they tagged you, you had to go into the black hole. Everyone else was
an astronaut and the astronauts could save the other kids who had been put in
the black hole. He told me that he had saved so many kids from the black hole
that the teacher had told him that he was a “saver” (saviour?).

The road only has houses on one side and the other side is wooded. There
is a small family of deer that live in the woods and we have been seeing them
almost every day. Yesterday when we got to the main road we saw that there was
a dead deer on the opposite side. This led to a conversation about death and
heaven and animals. He was under the impression that when you went to heaven
you went just like you are now, yourself just somehow deemed dead and not
alive. I explained to him that your body stays behind. It was a tough “waiting
for the bus concept.”

I have found that here in NY we seem to lead a much less rushed
lifestyle. I am never frantically attempting to pick up my son in rush hour traffic.
I am never scrambling to figure out what to make for dinner. Truth be told, I
am very rarely stressed out. These are the things that I have so easily
forgotten about our HI lifestyle. Today I am reveling in the fact that I got to
hold my son’s hand and walk down a country road while chatting. Maybe I am not
seeing the forest for the trees when it comes to my NY experiment. I have begun
thinking about what I will do when I go back to Hawaii. I have options and
choices. I just need to weigh them to ensure that we don’t lose everything we
have gained here.

About nematomorph

Living like the rich and famous, splitting time between Hawaii and New York.
This entry was posted in Hawaii, New York, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slower Time

  1. RobynT says:

    it’s funny that people would probably assume that your life in ny would be more fast-paced.

  2. lavagal says:

    No one will believe you that life in New York is more relaxed than life in Hawaii. But I do.

Leave a Reply

