Secret Shame

Sometimes when you watch certain television shows you just know that
you really should not watch them. You watch and you know that there are
millions of your brain cells just dying while you sit through Jersey Shore or
Real Housewives. These shows are your secret shame. Maybe you discuss them with
certain people but generally you hold that information close. I’d like to think
that my shows are not as bad (wishful thinking?) but there is still some embarrassment
around admitting that I watch them.

Living in NY, there are many more opportunities to do things and see
things than in Hawaii. It is just the truth. It is just the way it is. Many,
many things do not come to Hawaii. Bands, concerts, live shows. They just do
not come to Hawaii. So since I am in NY, I felt that I really needed to try to
avail myself of things that are just impossible to do where I really live.

This brings me to my secret shame. I love So You Think You Can Dance. I
love it unabashedly and wholly. I am emotionally involved in some of the choreography
(think Chelsea and Mark from a few seasons ago). I love to watch the dancing. I
love that there are no stars to dance with (unless you count the season’s past
all-stars who participate in the show). I love the inane utterances of Lil’ C
when he is a judge. And I was ecstatic when Mary Murphy rejoined the judges’
panel this year (less hot tamale train; more yelling). I missed Mia but had a
thing going with Mandy’s work. And who can resist Sonya’s freak flag flying
high and the Bollywood routines?

So tomorrow, dare I say it, tomorrow, Joe and I are going to the live
tour of So You Think You Can Dance at Nassau Coliseum. Ah, the Coliseum, I saw many
bad 80s bands there in my day. I am relatively certain that the show will be
packed with screaming teenage girls. I may very well be screaming along with
them. I am so excited. I really hope that Twitch is there and Pasha (just to
make Keanu jealous). I am going to buy souvenirs and I am going to take a night
and act like a ridiculous person with no responsibility. I am really looking
forward to that. To engage in some escape. Because sometimes the real world is
very, very ugly. Sometimes it is so ugly, there are no words. And tonight since
I have no words; I am instead indulging myself in some frivolity; pushing aside
the ugliness for just a while.

About nematomorph

Living like the rich and famous, splitting time between Hawaii and New York.
This entry was posted in New York and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Secret Shame

  1. lavagal says:

    I don’t know if we can be friends anymore. I just don’t know!

  2. Jess says:

    Yes!!! Maybe it’s because I, too, am a die hard SYTYCD fan, but I feel there are WAY worse guilty pleasures! So go, scream ur head off, dance along, and hell, get ’em to sign ur t-shirt! And PS – I miss our thur & fri recaps of the dances we loved 🙂

  3. lavagal says:

    BTW, I’m watching all the Mad Men I can on Netflix. Such naughty men!

Leave a Reply

