Rollin with My Homies

My significant other, Keanu, comes from a giant family. There are
literally more than a dozen aunties and uncles when you add up both his mother’s
and father’s siblings. It took me a really, really long time to get everyone’s
names down. Lucky for me “aunty” and “uncle” suffice when it comes to
salutations especially when accompanied by a hug. I tend to especially like the
giant family get-together on Christmas Eve. Immersed in waves and waves of
family, it helps me to not be so sad that I am not seeing mine on Christmas.

The thing is that my family is the polar opposite from Keanu’s. My Dad
is an only child and my Mom has one sister. That means that I only have one
Aunt and she is a great Aunt, my Aunt Sharon. I think that there a giant bunches
of further out related folks on my Dad’s side but we were never close with
them. We have always been close with my Aunt Sharon. She is like a calmer
version of my Mom. She does a lot of stuff but without the harried bursts that
seem to define my Mom’s activities. I like to chat with her and sometimes I
find it just easier to do so than with my Mom. She says it is because my Mom
and I have that “mother daughter thing”. I can’t exactly define in words what
that is but I completely understand what she means by it.

I am going to have lunch with my Aunt next week. I want to spend some
time with her; just the two of us. I always hear about things, things in the
past, things with my Grandmother, from my Mom. I adored my grandmother. She had
a drinking problem but try as I might I don’t ever recall an instance of seeing
her intoxicated. When I would stay with her I can remember where she stored her
case of Meister Brau beer (next to the fridge under the window) but, heck, that
could be me now. My mother has definitive strongly held views about my
grandmother and her drinking. I have never heard my Aunt echo these and I just want
to know. I need to know. I want to get her take. Maybe this desire has in some
part been initiated by the visit to the lawyers today for some estate planning;
establishment of trusts, living will, power of attorney and health care
directive. The things no one wants to think about, much less talk about. Two
weeks out and I want to know. Without the “mother daughter thing” getting in
the way, I hope to round out the stories; fill in the blanks and get a
different perspective from my Aunt; my one and only Aunt.

About nematomorph

Living like the rich and famous, splitting time between Hawaii and New York.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rollin with My Homies

  1. lavagal says:

    Ahh. So this is also a business trip. A family business trip. Good to get the ducks in a row before you return to the nene at home. For this, wahine, is where the hale is now. @;-)

  2. Pingback: Rollin with My Homies | Kids say :

Leave a Reply

