Back to the Beginning

I worked today. I worked for an entire day at a real job for the first time in over six months. I got my cubicle and computer functioning thanks to some really great assistance from both the admin guys and the computer guy.  I was welcomed by my former and once again current co-workers. I ate Thai food at lunch (was there any question?) I hugged a lot of people. I saw a lot of surprised faces. I chatted with my very favorite, soon to be retired, Senior Vice President. I saw my boss for about five minutes. I even did some work. I like my new area on the 10th floor. It’s true that I can’t see the ocean any more but there were numerous rainbows to be had with my new mauka view. It was interesting because, despite being gone for six months, it felt like I had never left. I felt as if I had just been there yesterday. It was a nice feeling. It is likely how my son felt after a day of school under his belt. How you just meld back into it, for better or worse.

One of my favorite things about today was having a brief health care policy discussion with one of my co-workers. It sounds almost silly but, the policy, it is what I love. I could do without the politics the one-upmanship, the partisanship and all the bad things that come along with being a policy lover. The thing is that if you love policy, it can’t be avoided. It comes with the turf. So you learn to deal with it, work with it, or around it or any other way that you can to help create good policy. It is frustrating. Sometimes significant time and effort is spent on things that fall by the wayside. You just learn to deal.

I hope that fresh off of my six month hiatus, I can find a better work/family balance in my life than what existed before I left. I know that it is possible and that the opportunity exists. I just need to allow myself to take advantage of it. I need to retain some of my six month offness within myself and make it work. I intend to try and hope that every day at work can be as good as today. Maybe I will just start having daily hugs at work regardless of whether I’ve been at work for one day or one hundred days; so watch out!

About nematomorph

Living like the rich and famous, splitting time between Hawaii and New York.
This entry was posted in Hawaii and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to the Beginning

  1. lavagal says:

    Can I have a hug?

  2. mauka-makai says:

    You could be the Free Hug girl. It works. Especially in Hawaii. I had a customer from Kauai today and asked her to please do me a big favor and eat some kulolo for me. She laughed out loud via email! It was cute.

    ps: did you study public health? we have alot of public health phd’s around here since UNC has a big program and also Paul Farmer of P.I.H. went to Duke. If you didn’t study public health, how is what you do or the interests of your job similar or different from those not for profit public health friends? (I’m showing my ignorance, inquiring minds…)

Leave a Reply

