Finding the Spirit

I have to admit to feeling rather scrooge like up until last weekend when we got our Christmas tree. Due to the lateness in even looking for a tree in town, I was pretty certain that at some point I would be on the freeway with a tree strapped to my roof. It made me nervous. We had struck out at the two places we knew had been selling trees in Honolulu so when Keanu’s Dad told us to try Home Depot we drove straight to Iwilei. We pulled into the parking lot and immediately saw the trees. They did not have a lot but they had more than I thought they would. We actually had a choice. There was no one there to really help us out so we just made our way around the roped off tree area. One of the first trees we looked at had been leaning up against another for too long and was practically flat on one side. We put that one aside and looked at the one behind it. It looked OK but then our son directed our attention to a tree that was beautifully shaped and all by itself. On further inspection we realized why. About a quarter of the way down from the top, there was a section of the trunk where there were no branches growing out of it at all; this weird devoid of branches area. Aside from that, it really was the perfect tree. We debated for a bit and then practiced a bit of family democracy and took a vote. The Charlie Brown tree was the winner.

We strapped it to the top of my car and I drove home slowly and carefully. I compare this to my frantic day today. The building I work at is right next to Walmart and a few blocks from Ala Moana Shopping Center. The streets around my building are jam packed with shoppers desperate to finish their holiday shopping. I, on the other hand, am desperate to get to my son’s school to pick him up before 5:00. That makes me feel more important than anyone else. Is there anything worse than sitting and not moving at the same traffic light and seeing it go red four times? Unfortunately, at lunch I was a contributor to the shopping madness instead of a victim when I had to run out to go to Best Buy. I do not recommend this in any, way, shape or form. There was no parking. There was no-one to help find stuff. When I found someone to help find stuff I found out that they were pretty much out of stuff. Pretty much out of the stuff that I wanted to get for Keanu (sorry!)

I have to admit that although I am not religious, I tend to get a bit sappy during the holiday season. I will cry at the drop of a hat. All of those silly homecoming commercials get me every time. Like the folgers one when the son or daughter comes home to a sleeping family and makes coffee that wakes everyone up to a tearful reunion in the kitchen. Pass the Kleenex! I might be affected this way because I do not spend Christmas with my family and I haven’t in many, many years. The good thing is that my very large extended “married” into family tends to put on a large, food filled, gift exchanging, carol singing Christmas Eve celebration that would win over the scroogiest person. It makes me feel at home. It makes me feel like family; like I belong. I could not be a scroogy person this year. I am home with my family. We are together. We are healthy. We have the best tree in Hawaii.  We have each other. There is truly not much else I could ask for during this holiday season.

About nematomorph

Living like the rich and famous, splitting time between Hawaii and New York.
This entry was posted in Hawaii and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finding the Spirit

  1. JT says:

    Hope you have a very merry Christmas!!

  2. Florence says:

    Have a great Christmas, Kim. Glad you are so happy to be back home.

Leave a Reply

