Paradise

For some reason, a couple of weeks ago, my seven year old son decided that we were going to go on a mother son date and we were going to have it at PF Chang’s. Not sure why there; we’ve been there before but he hasn’t been there in a while. His Dad had to man his office for art at the Capitol tonight. And while part of me wanted to go and support the event and meet the lady who created the huge tapestries which hang in both the House and Senate chambers (she was interviewed on the local public radio station), I actually could not bring myself to go to the Capitol today. My day was full of potential conflict, some abrasive personalities, and a long spate of meetings. I was feeling drained and hollow and like I didn’t want to be very social. It was the perfect day to fetch my son from school and have our dinner date.

As much as we argue at times (Keanu says it is because we are too much alike), we are also as thick as thieves. As a general family rule, we do not allow iphone games, the DS, or any other electronic entertainment at the table, especially when we are in a restaurant. I like to be able to chat and I believe that if his head is stuck in his DS every time we go out to dinner, he will be a socially inept adult in these situations. Today my son was just the best. He was all pleases and thank yous. He put my bag in the car for me and then proceeded to open the front door, guide me in, close the door and get himself into the back buckled up. He was a good dinner conversationalist. He tried new foods and made me laugh out loud. All this, and he is cute and he loves me. There is nothing more I could ask for.

When we were in NY I had let him watch the Grammy’s (truth be told, I am a sucker for an awards show). I let him stay up for it to see some of the folks sing who he knows (Katy Perry & LMFAO). During the show he saw some musicians he had never heard, including Coldplay. He immediately fell in love with the song Paradise. I bought it from itunes for him but have failed to put it on his inherited ipod (my old one) so he hasn’t heard it in a while. Driving home I plugged my phone into the car so I could play it for him. We turned it up loud and drove home in the rain. I watched him in the mirror as he listened to the song. He closed his eyes and looked like he was just absorbing the music. I have never seen him like that before. There is music that he likes but this was different. It was like he was feeling it. Like it was touching his soul. It was doing what music is supposed to do to you. I was moved to see him like that. So intense. So focused. It was like I was seeing him feel this deep, deep feeling for the first time ever in his life. It kind of brought tears to my eyes. I wanted to stop the car and get in the backseat and snuggle up next to him. It filled up the hollowed out core of myself that had been drained away by my day.

About nematomorph

Living like the rich and famous, splitting time between Hawaii and New York.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Paradise

  1. Paula says:

    Coldplay. I know that feeling. How sweet to witness such surrender.

  2. I miss that boy. The warming weather makes me think of our “guys days” and our hikes looking for wild raspberries. Hes an old soul and he’s lucky to have such great parents.

  3. mauka-makai says:

    Little gentleman, perfect date. N and I do lunch dates at PF Changs. It seems just fancy enough for a “date” and we love the veg lettuce wraps and fancy drinks.

Leave a Reply

