Sometimes You Just Know

I talk to my Mom in NY every weekend, usually both days. Inevitably during one of those calls she either tells me that she was just about to call me or that she was just thinking of me when I called. And if it wasn’t me, it would be someone else; sometimes someone that she hadn’t seen or heard from in a long time. That person would pop into her head and the next thing she knew they were giving her a call. She said that my grandmother was the same. And so am I. I am not saying that we are family of psychics. If that were the case, we could have our own reality show or win the lottery. No, it is more like having a sixth sense. Like you just know when something is going to happen.

Today when I was running, my mind was off doing its own thing. It is one of the reasons why I have no interest in listening to music while I am running. It is like my brain really enjoys the mindless repetitiveness of exercising. Like a mini brain vacation. Really, the only thing that it has to do is make sure all the systems are functioning so that I keep moving. Maybe that’s why exercising is so good for you – not just the physical but the mental aspects as well. It is probably also why I have never been much of a team sport player. The closest I ever came was paddling outrigger canoes. I think I liked it because even though the canoe had five other women in it working together as a team, each person just had to make sure they were pulling together. When I first started I was a stroker, I sat in the first seat and set the pace for the boat. It was just like running long distances but in the water. I enjoyed it greatly.

Today I went running in the middle of the day at work. People think that I am nuts to run at that time (although I am not the only one who does this where I work) but really, it is almost always hot here so you may as well go when you can. Running is one of those things that I actually think I am naturally good at. When I am at my optimal weight, it is fairly effortless for me and I really like it. I am not at my optimal weight right now so sometimes it seems to be a bit of a slog. So while my brain was taking a vacation while running today, it started thinking about dangerous things. I don’t know why, it just did. Then it started wondering if there was anything that I do in my life right now that could be considered dangerous. I couldn’t think of anything but then I thought that Keanu would think that what I was doing right now, running about town in mid-day traffic, that would be considered dangerous. This was what had been going through my head, right before I almost got banged by a pick-up truck coming out of a side street onto Wilder. So was this my brain trying to tell me something? The universe sending me a cosmic message? Or maybe just my Grandmother watching out for me. Who can say?

Maybe if my brain had more down time, I would be more receptive to what it was trying to tell me. If the noise and clutter of everyday life littering my mind could be lessened, maybe this would happen more often. Or maybe that wouldn’t be a good thing. Maybe I only know what I’m supposed to know and that’s just the way it should be. Because all you really need is a little sixth sense now and again.

About nematomorph

Living like the rich and famous, splitting time between Hawaii and New York.
This entry was posted in Hawaii and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

