Dancing in Public

On Friday when I was walking from work to my car (not the same building) there was a family of Japanese tourists heading my way. I felt like maybe they were lost. Most Japanese tourists are down in Waikiki. The area where my work building is, is very, very, close to Wal-Mart. When you are very close to Wal-Mart, then you are very close to Wal-Mart clientele, and others who are drawn to a large, bright store which is open 24 hours a day. Depending on the day of the week, the phase of the moon, whether or not it is Friday the 13th,  it is quite the study in humanity. And it is sometimes too much to bear.

So the Japanese family had a small boy and a smaller girl. It was the small girl that made me even notice them. She was in this flowered dress and literally danced across the street to my side where we all waited for the light to turn to cross again. When it did she just went across the street, right next to me, leaving her family behind. She was skipping and dancing and exuding exuberance. She and her family kept walking while I turned to go to my car. I thought that if an adult did what she was doing, they would be looked at askance and thought to be one of the regular Wal-Mart area denizens.

Earlier that day at work I had chatted with someone I ran into in the elevator. She was taking some time off like I am about to do. She told me that she didn’t have the resources to travel so she wasn’t going to a neighbor island though she would have liked to. She said that even movies were on the expensive side these days although it could be an option. She said that she was going to do stuff on the cheap, like hiking, and going to the beach. I like her moxie.

These two encounters made me realize how lucky I am. How my worries are few. My people are healthy and safe. I have a loving home and a wonderful son. How I should do more dancing in the street; despite what people might think. Or, if not dancing out loud, at least remembering, more often, all the reasons why I should be.

About nematomorph

Living like the rich and famous, splitting time between Hawaii and New York.
This entry was posted in Hawaii and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

