Number Hater

I do not love the scale. I don’t own a scale. For me, it is more about how I feel about and how I look than that number that the scale measures. I can tell when I am heavier than I prefer. My clothes don’t feel good or look good. I feel bulgy and jiggly. That was my feeling right before I went on vacation about a month ago, just kind of out of shape. I figured that I had better do something about it otherwise any vacation poundage would end up adding to an already too heavy me. I did really well for a while. I was exercising and trying to stick to my Weight Watchers points. Weight Watchers is the only place I step on the scale. It is the threat of my day. Plus they write it down. I don’t like it one bit.

But this day, I was feeling good. I had been fairly well behaved in my eating and had been consistently exercising for at least a couple of weeks. My pants felt a bit roomier than usual. More so than they had in a long time. So I was not prepared for the very bad number that came up on the scale at the Weight Watchers meeting at the YWCA. It was the worst number I had seen in a very, very long time. It was four pounds over my goal weight, the heaviest I had weighed in at since I re-joined about six years ago or so. I was stunned. I told the lady not to write it down and sort of ran out of the room.

Noooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I felt betrayed by my own body. I knew in my heart that that number was not right. I could feel it. Could feel it in the way that my clothes were fitting that it was not right. Despite this, my brain was kind of on a rampage. It felt betrayed and let down and then it decided to reverse the good lifestyle changes I had made. Just like that. In one millisecond that decision was made. And because I listened to my brain and not my heart, that number that was so awful that day, that number that I knew in my heart was not correct, is correct today. It is correct right now, as of last week. All because I didn’t just go with what I knew to be true.

Because of that bad choice, I am only now slowly getting back into not making bad food choices and consistently exercising. Of course, I imagine how much better off I had been moving forward instead of defeating myself. Maybe if I could have that millisecond back to make a better choice I would be able to. I know that despite this setback and being my own worst enemy that it will work out in the end. Next time, and in more matters than this, I hope that the truth that is in my heart is able to prevail.

About nematomorph

Living like the rich and famous, splitting time between Hawaii and New York.
This entry was posted in Hawaii and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Number Hater

  1. I happily threw out my scale about 5 years ago. It was my best decision ever!

  2. Yeah, I hate the scale because it always tells me something I don’t want to know but I do need to know it.

  3. I had a similar experience this morning. My tummy felt tighter than usual and my clothes fit pretty comfortably and so I thought about hopping on the scale. As I approached the metal beast, I chickened out. I’m gonna still with the same routine and try for next week.

Leave a Reply

