Policy & Boobs

The other day I had a meeting with the head of a social services agency in town. There is a lot of concern around state decisions being made regarding the benefits to be included in the health plans that will be offered in the state’s health insurance exchange. There is  confusion and a lot of stakeholders want to make sure that the people they represent will still be able to receive the services they receive currently. Personally, I don’t believe that this will be a problem.

Anyway, the head of this agency had run into my boss and asked some questions about the ridiculous amount of acronyms (QHPs-EHBs), timeline of decisions and other Affordable Care Act provisions. She of course said, sure I can help you out and had me call him. Now this guy is a nice guy. He is a true bleeding heart liberal social services type. He is a bulldog for the folks he represents. I think that he is good at his job.

I also think that I am good at my job. I know a lot about national health care reform. Much, much more than the average bear. In a way it is good for me because deep in my heart I am a policy wonk. I want to debate it. I want to discuss it. I want to help make good policy decisions. Frequently I am stifled by the politics and yet, I carry on.

Since I tend to know so much about reform, its provisions and their affects on the state, I am sometimes lent out as a resource. So the other day, I trotted off downtown to meet with social services guy and his staffer to go over some basic health care reform stuff. I had a nifty little slide deck. I focused on the area they would be interested in. We settled into a conference room and got underway.

It was all going really well until I realized that the agency head kept talking to my cleavage. I had on what I call my republican dress. It is this ugly print but it has a v neck that gets a bit jostled when I am sitting. I was sitting. It was the weirdest thing and I didn’t know what to do. I didn’t want to look down and shift the dress drawing even more attention to it. Finally I decided to put on my sweater and button it up even though it was kind of stuffy in the conference room.

It was just like this but my outfit was more republican.

Despite the ogling, I have to say that I didn’t feel too grossed out about the episode. Maybe because he is this fine upstanding defender of the underserved. Or maybe it was because I was too into the reform policy discussion. Whatever the reason, I don’t hold this incident against him. I do have to say that it was annoying more than anything. Like, hello, I am here, my face, the part you should be talking to. So while I wasn’t grossed out I was irritated. Like my big health care policy brain just wasn’t enough. The incident made me add a “to-do” to my weekend agenda: invest in some fashion tape to ensure proper containment.

About nematomorph

Living like the rich and famous, splitting time between Hawaii and New York.
This entry was posted in Hawaii and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Policy & Boobs

  1. lavagal says:

    Now I know why they make giant eyeglasses! For your boobs to look even SMARTER!

Leave a Reply

