Social Me-dia

I like social media. I like Facebook. I like Twitter. I even am sort of on Instagram now. But lately I find myself randomly scrolling through my FB newsfeed. Really quickly. Really, really quickly. I am finding that there is less and less information about people that I am friends with and more and more, well, newsfeed spam.

For example, just this week, I have scrolled past photos of disfigured & maimed children without liking or saying amen. I have ignored the Jesus shaped clouds. I have sped by the memes about strong & beautiful women. I have not watched the video of Patti LaBelle pie love or random large man playing some video dance game. I have not read the vitriol against refugees. Unfortunately, my newsfeed is seemingly cluttered with this stuff. Things that are randomly liked and shared. Things that say the same thing over and over. Every day. With new pictures and slightly different words. It has become like static. Kind of like how people at work feel about the ridiculously long and complex emails that I end up sending out. It gets so that it is just meaningless.

On the other side of the coin, the things that I love seeing, the things that I go there for, seem to be appearing less and less. The photos of my baby cousin’s son who is now a proud Marine really made my week. And seeing the New Yorks at a Doctor Who gathering, all decked out as characters, was fabulous. And my laugh out loud moment today over my friend’s comment about his colon not working (on his keyboard). Pictures of my boot camp buddy’s newborn whose cheeks are so ready for pinching. And these are the things, the things that make it worthwhile. The things that are human and touch you and make you feel like, even if you are really far away, you can be there a little in your heart.

So I am torn these days. Torn about FB. Maybe the shine is wearing off for me. Because now it is too easy to post but say nothing. To be there but not there. And to me, that is not the point. I want to know. I want to know how you are doing. I want to see your kitty pictures and your son’s drawings. I want to see a picture of you flying a helicopter and see what great food you are eating and with who and where. I want to be a part. Maybe I am expecting too much. We all have busy lives so the simple share or like or amen, that is easy and quick. But then I see you but I don’t really get to see you. And really, I want to see you. That is why we are friends on FB.

Despite all of this, I am still in. I haven’t decided to check out yet. Because the good things are good. And they make me happy. I suppose when that is gone, I may check out. For now, the happy is worth wading through the rest. But I remain hopeful for more happy and less wading.

 

About nematomorph

Living like the rich and famous, splitting time between Hawaii and New York.
This entry was posted in Hawaii, New York, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Social Me-dia

  1. An old friend says:

    OMG, I feel exactly the same way! Facebook has become all about bad meme’s, abused animals and so much political BS. All of that garbage gets posted and shared out, over and over again. It is maddening and I also find myself scrolling, seemingly endlessly, to make sure I didn’t miss anything that I might actually care about. Facebook is great for bridging the distance between friends and family. I love to see the pictures of your kids, the graduation photos and the family get togethers. I wish I could filter out the rest of the content.

    Wishing you a very Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

