People

I had a conversation with one of my closest friends this morning. The morning of my 50th birthday. I think about moving back home. I want to be closer to my family. I want to be closer to my people. My closest friends. And in a text of self-pity I happened to say to her that I had no people here. Here in Hawaii where I have lived for close to 15 years or more. And at the time, I kind of felt that. 

That was until the outing to lie under the floating boulder. It is the Honolulu Art Biennial right now. It is the first one, as far as I knorockw. There is art strewn across the city in many locations. On Hawaii Public Radio the other day, they discussed the art that was at the Foster Botanical Garden. They interviewed an artist who had a giant floating boulder at the Garden. His name is Andrew Binkley and his piece is entitled “Stone Cloud”. After I heard the report on the Stone Cloud all I could think about was going to lie down under it. I can’t say why. I just did. Sometimes that is how my brain works. 

I took the day off from work today and planned to go down to the exhibit sometime mid-morning. By myself. That was before my co-workers called me. Okay, they are more than co-workers, they are my friends. And they wanted to take me to lunch. I said that I could not because it is Taco Bell Thursday and that involves a lot of calories so eating lunch out is just not an option. Yes. TB Thursday on my 50th birthday. You got something to say about that? Anyway, my co-workers then told me that they were going to meet me at Foster Botanical Garden. I said sure.  

I met my two co-workers at the floating stone, which, in person does not look real, however photographs very well. Luckily it was floating over a stone pathway so I did not have to lie in the mud to accomplish my goal. And it was when one of my co-workers was taking the picture of me lying under the floating stone, that I realized that I really do have people. And I know that they are my people, these two co-worker friends because they did not flinch about me lying on the ground under the stone. They never asked me why I wanted to do this. They didn’t even question my sanity. And all of those things would have been entirely appropriate. But they did not do them. And why? Because they know me. Because they are my people. And that made me feel good. Good for knowing that I have people. And bad for not admitting it to myself.

 And in the end, that helped me to have a really great birthday. Just knowing that I do have people. Really great, kick ass people. And I would put their picture in my post but it may freak them out. So instead, I will thank them. And instead, I will tell them that I love them. And that they are so my people. And that they really helped make my day very special.

 

About nematomorph

Living like the rich and famous, splitting time between Hawaii and New York.
This entry was posted in Aging, friendship, Hawaii, midlife crisis, Relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to People

  1. An old friend says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! Glad to hear you had a good. Here’s to another 50 great years!

Leave a Reply

